Home / News / PAU Ludhiana Centre Gets Award of Excellence Under AICRP On Fruits

PAU Ludhiana Centre Gets Award of Excellence Under AICRP On Fruits

A four-day Group Discussion of All India Coordinated Research Project of Fruits was inaugurated by Dr BS Dhillon, worthy Vice-Chancellor on January 18, 2020, at Punjab Agricultural University (PAU), Ludhiana. More than 200 scientists from 54 centres across the country are participating in this group discussion.

The inaugural function started with the welcome address by Dr N.S. Bains, Director of Research, PAU.

The chief guest Dr WS Dhillon, Assistant Director General (Horticultural Science) ICAR, New Delhi in his speech emphasized the role of horticulture in Gross Domestic Product of country. He informed that though horticultural crops occupy only 17% of the total cropped area, yet these contribute more than 33% of the agricultural GDP of the country. He attribute lower suicide rate among the horticultural farmers as compared to those growing conventional crops due to better income from horticultural crops. Further, he stressed the need to control post-harvest losses in fruits to increase profits as well as to focus on virus-free planting material propagated under protected conditions to avoid the spread of various pathogens.

In his presidential address Dr BS Dhillon, Padam Shri Awardee and Vice-Chancellor, PAU, highlighted the importance of AICRP in the country. He emphasised that fruit scientists should work on solving long-pending national problems and work on breeding of varieties and rootstocks. He also laid emphasis on quality nursery production and mechanization in fruit crops.

Project coordinator Dr Prakash Patil readout the achievements of the Project. He also highlighted the need for the development of a complete package of practices for organic cultivation of the fruits by giving examples of Nagpur mandarin and sweet orange.

During the inaugural function, AICRP Ludhiana centre was bestowed upon the Award of Excellence for linking technology development and transfer. This award was received by Drs H.S. Rattanpal, Sandeep Singh and Anita Arora from the dignitaries. Three publications were also released during this programme.

The function ended the vote of thanks from Dr Harminder Singh, Head Department of Fruit Science.

Get Breaking news and Latest News from India and around the world on GlobalPunjabTV.net.

Check Also

Role of Health Ministry's suspected on ‘missing buprenorphine tabs’ issue: Bhagwant Mann

Role of Health Ministry’s suspected on ‘missing buprenorphine tabs’ issu …

CHANDIGARH, JULY 4: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Punjab has blamed the government-sponsored drug mafia …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *